From Amelia’s Perspective

Amelia is positively open about having Tourette Syndrome…so proud of her!

In order to assist Tourette Canada with their campaign, we were asked to provide some information about Amelia. 

The paragraph that they wanted to include on the billboards and bus signs is:

“My name is Amelia and I’m 8 years old. I love science, singing, swimming and playing with my friends. I have Tourette Syndrome but Tourette doesn’t stop me from reaching my goals. Tourette Syndrome doesn’t define who I am and what I’m capable of. Please donate to help support me and other children with Tourette Syndrome. “

We were also asked to provide some specific information regarding Amelia.  For example, we were asked what Amelia’s specific tics are:

  • stretching of her neck,
  • raising her right arm,
  • eye blinking,
  • making wide eyes and looking to one side,
  • stuttering, and
  • vocal tics (little squeaks).

However, the most difficult tic thus far has been the stuttering.  This makes it difficult in class when doing presentations or reading out loud.

To get Amelia involved, I thought I would ask her a few questions so that they could get her perspective of how she feels.

  • What do you want to do when you grow up?
  • So many things…maybe a scientist?  Right now I really want to be a famous YouTuber though.
  • Does Tourette’s make it difficult for you to learn or play sports?
  • No, not at all.
  • Do your friends make fun of your Tourette’s?
  • No, not at all.  It helps that Jill came to my school to tell my friends and teachers about Tourette Syndrome.  I was able to show my friends what my tics were.
  • **From a parent perspective, after the annual visit, we notice a significant boost in her self esteem.  There are no words to describe how thankful we are that this resource is available!
  • Do you know what your tics are?
  • No.  I don’t even know I’m doing them.
  • Do your friends ask you about your Tourette’s?
  • Sometimes.  But I tell them that it is not contagious and it just makes me unique. 
  • If you could tell another child that had Tourette Syndrome that was maybe having difficulties with friends making fun of them, what would it be?
  • Don’t let them stand in your way!  Tell them you have Tourette’s and that inside you are just like them!
  • Do you want people to treat you differently from others?
  • No, please don’t.  I’m just like you!
  • Do you tell people that you have Tourette Syndrome?
  • Yes, if I can’t sit still or can’t talk right away when someone asks me something I just tell them “it’s just my Tourette’s”.
  • **This year, Amelia told both of her teachers on the first day that she had Tourette’s – without any prompting.

Tomorrow are head shots!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jeff Cann says:

    The billboard thing is very cool. I don’t believe I’ve ever seen a TS billboard before. In fact, awareness here (US) is minimal at best. I’ve just started volunteering with the Tourette Association of America on their Adult Task Force. Hoping I can do my own small part to change things. Amelia’s attitude is great. I should try to emulate her more.

    Like

    1. Thanks Jeff! Amelia is truly amazing…she is not shy about advocating for herself at all! In Canada, we have “Tourette Canada”, which has many chapters. We belong to the “Ottawa Chapter” – which is approximately 45 minutes away from us. Within our chapter, we have raised enough funds to have not only billboards but also signs inside and outside our public bus system. We have an annual Trek each year to these raise funds, which also provides for someone to go to schools, daycares and camps to educate teachers and children about TS. This also provides in person support groups – for parents, kids, and adults with TS. To be completely honest, without this community, we do not know what we have done. We have other annual events like Summer and Christmas parties. They have truly become like a second family!

      Like

Leave a comment